Alexia Mellor is an interdisciplinary artist, educator and curator. She initiated MIND THE GAP after a trip to Istanbul in 2009. “I fell in love with Istanbul the moment I got there. After talking with many locals, I started to notice the many and various ways the city and its people identified with their past history and are working to create a future identity; how they bridged this gap. I could relate to this since much of the investigation I do in my own practice entails how we create identities in relation to place. I felt there was a need to look into this issue in more detail, to expand the dialogue, and to create a forum for emerging artists to exhibit their own take on the “gaps” and disparities that exist in our world today.”

For more information on Alexia Mellor’s work, please visit her website at: http://alexiamellor.com

